Back To Work

by adidok

It’s day 4 of being back to work full time and I have to say that I am pleasantly surprised. I expected to be absolutely miserable being away from my baby, but so far I am far from it. Do I miss him? Yes. But is it unbearable to the point that I am depressed or want to cry? Not even close. I think that a huge contributing factor to that are prayers of support of my church and my family. Another must be that I’m blessed to have a job that I love.

I am a property manager, which means that every day I get to interact with a bunch of people and help them in resolving all sorts of different issues. It’s a kind of job that is perfect for my nonexistent attention span, because every day I am faced with thirty or so different tasks which all require fifteen minutes at most to complete. My to-do list goes on for pages and pages, but I also leave home every day with a feeling of accomplishment because I can get a page or two worth of items crossed out in a single work day! No day is ever the same, which keeps me entertained. Needless to say, there is plenty to keep my mind away from missing my baby boy.

I also find that the time that I do spend at home with my baby now is much better quality than before. While staying at home, I got sidetracked by running the household and noticed myself rarely going to him for things other than a diaper change or feeding. I may be judged for it, but I will say it: after fifteen or so diaper changes in a day, you want to hand the baby over to whoever walks through the door next. Now when I come home, I run to hold my son, change his diaper, sit down, calm down, and actually talk to him. I have also noticed that my energy level increased, although I get less sleep. The feeling of being “trapped” at home drained me. I am astonished to come home now and have more energy to go somewhere or work out than I did while staying home all day and sleeping in!

Is this an ideal situation? No. If we had the financial resources for me to stay at home, I would do it in a heartbeat! But unfortunately with Obamacare requirement for insurance, my husbands salary isn’t even close to covering premiums for me and baby. I have been assigned to my current property for a short period of time, after which point I get to decide whether I want to stay on full-time or go to part-time. At this point, the money from a full-time position is extremely helpful to paying off medical bills from delivering our little bundle of joy. But later on I will likely switch to part time. For now, I am looking at the bright side of things, enjoying adult interaction, and spending as much quality time as possible with my son.

