52 Book Series. Week 2. “The Help” by Kate Stockett

by adidok

This book stays.

I read and wept through it in about a week. Now, I am not normally a drama type of person. I hate sad books and movies that make me cry (a.k.a. feel).  However, this book is in a category of its own. The closest book I can compare it to is Gone With The Wind, although it really doesn’t compare at all. It doesn’t compare to anything. It is unique in its perspective, language, and color. (The movie is just as awesome in my opinion. A rare case.)

The book takes place right in the midst of Martin Luther King’s movement in the 1960’s. It beautifully depicts the life of a small southern town — nanny’s, plantations, homemakers, racial and class differences, struggles, relationships, convictions. It’s definitely one of my top reads for several reasons. One of the main characters is an aspiring writer who is trying to get a publishing contract and move to New York. I can relate to anyone wanting to move there, as it has been my dream ever since high school (still not accomplished). The book is very interesting to read. You don’t have to push yourself to keep reading — the language sucks you in. I would like my children to read this book someday for its historical value and a lesson in humanity. And lastly, it brings alive the struggles of that time. I learned about all of the events depicted in the book in high school. However, it never quite hit home until I read the book. It was the same for my husband when he watched the movie.

Now I have to force myself to write a paragraph about how a book makes me feel. This is not an easy task, since I have recently discovered (or rather my husband pointed out) that I have difficulty recognizing feelings, although I can easily, eloquently, and accurately describe events. There were a few scenes that broke my heart, such as when the nanny is let go and the 2-year-old girl is crying for her to come back. There were others that made me feel inspired (like when the writer got her contract and decided to move to New York after all). The book made me realize that the greatest things to accomplish are usually faced with obstacles first. All in all it forced me to think deeper about my purpose in life and my role in existence. What does my life mean to the people around me? To my husband, my son? What is it that I aspire to do and am I willing to work hard to get there?

I highly recommend this book to everyone.

