Talking my way into healing

by adidok

I’m going to make a new category on this blog called Discoveries in the Word. I’ve been feeling exhausted, overwhelmed, and hopeless lately, with several very specific issues that bugged me, such as our marriage, my health, and our finances. I searched for answers in books (we already know how that went and why I decided not to read as my new years resolution), but then it hit me that the only place I could find them would be the word of God — my bible. So I decided to get serious about it, and instead of spending time on my phone in the morning, dusted off a physical copy of the bible and a pack of highlighters. I decided to assign a color to each issue that was a concern, and read the bible in search of verses that correlate to each issue.

I began in Proverbs and after only two days of reading discovered that although I’ve read this book many MANY times before, I didn’t connect certain dots. Putting color to the word gave me quite a different perspective. What I figured out today was this: the words you say and hear somehow directly affects your health and wellbeing! Now, I knew that what comes out of our mouth matters. I learned to apply that principle to issues of finances and relationships. I knew that it wasn’t nice to curse or to call people bad names. I knew that being negative lowers the mood around you. But somehow it never clicked until this morning that words are affecting my healing.

But it was black on white (highlighted in orange):

“Hear my son, and accept my WORDS that the years of your life may be many.” Proverbs 4: 10

“My son, be attentive to my WORDS… for they are life to those who find them, and healing to all their flesh.” Proverbs 4: 20, 22

“Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life. Put away from you CROOKED SPEECH, and put DEVIOUS TALK far from you.” Proverbs 4:23-24

“A worthless person, a wicked man, goes about with CROOKED SPEECH… in a moment he will be broken beyond healing.” Proverbs 6: 12, 15

“The REPROOFS of discipline are a way of life.” Proverbs 6: 23

“With much seductive SPEECH she persuades him… he does not know that it will cost him his life.” Proverbs 7: 21, 23

“Who fails to find me (wisdom), injures himself.” Proverbs 8:36

“…he who REPROVES a wicked man incurs injury.” Proverbs 9:7

My goal: be attentive and deliberabe about what I say and what I listen to.

