52 Books Series. Week 7. “Women in Love.” D.H. Lawrence

by adidok

This book stays along Hemingway on my “If I don’t finish it in 6 months, it goes” shelf. Then it goes.

I thought this book is strange. When I read it, I didn’t really understand what is going on. But that may be because I started it back in High School. I am curious to finish it because not finishing the book has been bugging me ever since I stopped reading it. I believe that now I may have a greater understanding of the history of events the book is set in, as well as love.

The book is set in a small town, where two sisters move to become teachers. Then they fall in love, and the book becomes painstakingly long in describing the emotions of everyone involved with everyone else. The torment of waiting for what happens next in the book (nothing to the point that I’ve read) can certainly be compared to being in love before finding out if the other person feels the same way about you. Lawrence is great at depicting the boredom of life that the characters of his novel experience.

I couldn’t finish the book because it was not pulling me in with the story line, while being a bit too sensual for my taste. I picked it up because it is considered a “classic,” and most of the times I am not disappointed with classics, but this time around I really was. I am going to give the book another chance after my year of not reading is over, but if I cannot finish it again, it goes. The emotion I feel when I think about it is guilt for not finishing something that I started, and it’s time to let that go.

