52 Book series. Week 8. “The Power of a Praying Woman.” Stormie Omartian

by adidok

Today I am really glad I made a commitment to write the 52 book series. For the past few weeks there have been quite a few changes in my professional life, which have left no room in me for creative writing inspiration. However, because I’ve made a commitment to my readers to write every Thursday about a book, I have stuck to it, and this has been keeping my blog “afloat.” I would hate for it to die down like my other five have.

Today I am going to deviate from my typical read and talk about a spiritual book. “The Power of a Praying Woman,” by Stormie Omartian, was a powerful read for me. I read it on my train commute from Tacoma to Seattle, and enjoyed the book as much as I enjoyed riding that train every morning. It was a unique experience in my life, and although I got tired of the commute after a year, I still remember fondly looking out the window and noticing the outside getting gradually lighter and lighter with the sun greeting me when I came out of the train station downtown.

The book is an easy read, and for that time being was an excellent jump-start to my prayer life. Separated into short and sweet chapters, it helps to itemize exactly what every woman should be praying for. Some things were not what I thought of on my own, but after I started including them in my prayer, my life started to piece together in those aspects. I don’t own this book anymore, so I am not going to give it away. What I do own is “The Power of a Praying Wife,” and I am planning to keep this book for reference throughout my life. It’s the last book I was holding in my hands when I embarked on my resolution not to read anything for a year, and it is going to be the first one I pick up in 2015 once my ban is up.

