My love for the Proverbs 31 woman

by adidok

I know that P31 scares some women and motivates others. I am most certainly in the “others” category, as this girl has built quite a fascinating life there for herself! I’ve read and re-read the passage hundreds of times, and recently got this brilliant idea to try to literally become like the woman in the passage! However, I did not completely understand it. In addition, when looking at different translations, the words I had my doubts about did not match up!

This lead me to do some more research on exactly what she does and who she is. What I’ve uncovered so far has been absolutely fascinating — nothing I’ve heard of before. I don’t recall hearing a sermon on Proverbs 31 in general, and what I learned through my best friend Google was most certainly not included in any sermons or studies I’ve found on the topic online.

Along with the fascinating discoveries in fashion, geography, and history, I’ve uncovered a ton of misconceptions about the Proverbs 31 woman. Some of them were irritating, some just didn’t dig far enough, some made me feel sorry for the women attempting to “chase” the P31 standard.

In the next few days I would like to do a series of posts on the P31 woman to share what I have discovered through my research. Stay tuned to find out more about the common misconceptions about this biblical character, a lesson in fashion, a study on shellfish, and what she has to do with Italy!