52 Books Series. Week 9. “Three Cups of Tea” by Greg Mortenson, David Oliver Relin

by adidok

This book is part of five others that I borrowed from a friend. It’s the only one that I actually read, but I’m going to make it a goal today to mail them all back to her and free up some space on my bookshelf. I doubt that I will get to others anytime soon, although they are good books. Once it’s time to read them, I will opt either for a library or for owning them myself. The fact that I have other people’s books just sitting there is weighing me down, although my wonderful friend has never mentioned a word to me about keeping them for over a year.

“Three Cups of Tea” was very educational for me. It is about a man who goes climbing a mountain in Pakistan and stumbles on a village where he figures out that there isn’t a school. He promises to return to build one, and actually does so. The book is about his struggle to raise finances for the project, as well as to actually get it accomplished in a country he knows nothing about.

I found the cultural depiction of Pakistan fascinating. I’ve never researched that country in-depth, but have another friend who is dying to go there. After reading “Three Cups of Tea,” I got a clearer picture of why her heart is in that country. The book also inspired me to reconsider my priorities in life, and explore what is stopping me from accomplishing my calling.

“Three Cups of Tea” was interesting and easy to read, but didn’t quite have an ending, since it’s a depiction of an actual person’s life. I believe there is now a sequel. The only thing that I didn’t enjoy about the book was its political undertone. While the plot is meant to depict a real man’s journey and struggle, it still works to establish a certain outlook on the world events. Perhaps because I don’t agree with that specific outlook, I didn’t enjoy the slight push towards it. Or maybe it made me feel like someone is trying to manipulate me into seeing things their way, instead of boldly stepping out and saying what they believe in. In any case, I didn’t like the influence, although I understand that most books are written in order to communicate a certain stance and to influence people to agree with it, even if the authors are not aware of it consciously. I believe that this one was planned though, since the second author is an investigative journalist.

I would recommend this book any day.

